presented by

The Climate Pledge

Premium-Partner











Future Vision Award 2021

Festival of Lights Future Vision Award
The best videomapping artists stage their messages in spectacular shows

Traditionally, the Festival of Lights, together with its presenting partner, offers a competition in which the best video artists are awarded prizes. This year it is the Future Vision Award.

Schloss Charlottenburg

The light of tomorrow is a projection by the Spanish creative studio momap, an artistic message about the necessary change in the way we deal with energy. The journey through time begins with the emergence of charcoal, tells of the use of other fossil fuels in a steampunk and art deco environment, shows fire-breathing machines and arrives at the end to reality – a clear-thinking, transparent head. The artist collective RE:SORB has won several awards and is a guarantor of high-quality work. In their Mapping Transformation, in times of transformation and digitalization, it is about designing a path for a new tomorrow. In doing so, one should not lose sight of nature next to all the technology and alternative possibilities. In the video mapping by the Polish creative team Clockwork, the baroque Charlottenburg Palace is first illuminated by disco balls, sculptures dance to the beat. Then the facade transforms into a glass structure, whales swim in a cosmic environment, air bubbles turn into spheres with children …. a mystical scenery.

TV Tower Berlin

For the staging con:trust, the Berlin design team Studio Eigengrau and Soundselektor deal with the ambivalence between man, environment & technology, as well as the use of fossil and renewable energies. The technological achievements of our civilization are often in contrast to the findings of science. con:trust shows that the world as we know it is not only black and white, but consists of facets and nuances. Chicago-based U.S. artist George Berlin says of his production Evolve Love: “It’s a story about nature being overwhelmed and almost absorbed by technology and modern life. But ultimately she not only overcomes it, she merges with technology to shape the future in new ways.” Les Ateliers Nomand from Romania has reinterpreted sculptor Constantin Brâncuși’s symbolic masterpieces, extraordinary in their simplicity, in a colorful and lively way. Among them well-known sculptures such as “Bird in Space”, “Endless Column” and “Table of Silence”. The modern components embed harmoniously with natural elements, movement and rhythm. They solve the problems of today and tomorrow through simplified algorithms. Brâncuși in Space is a fantastic journey through a universe that is strong and at the same time in need of protection.

Hotel de Rome

The artists behind The Projection Studio from England are Ross Ashton and Karen Monid, represented in the festival with the contribution Psyche. The actual protagonists are blue butterflies that connect the individual scenes, create transitions and thus express the interconnectedness of the world. These individual scenes show a wide variety of images of a world as people want it to be: A rainbow-colored waterfall in the forest, a small island in a clean sea, or a sunrise in the desert.

X

presented by

The Climate Pledge

Premium-Partner











Future Vision Award 2021

Festival of Lights Future Vision Award
Die besten Videomapping Künstler*innen inszenieren ihre Botschaften
in spektakulären Shows

Traditionell lobt das Festival of Lights gemeinsam mit seinem Presenting Partner einen Wettbewerb aus, in dem die besten Videokünstler*innen prämiert werden. In diesem Jahr ist es der Future Vision Award.

Schloss Charlottenburg

The light of tomorrow ist eine Projektion des spanischen Kreativstudios momap, eine künstlerische Botschaft zum notwendigen Wandel im Umgang mit Energie. Die Zeitreise beginnt bei der Entstehung der Holzkohle, erzählt von der Nutzung weiterer fossile Brennstoffe in einer Steampunk- und Artdeco-Umgebung, zeigt Feuer spuckende Maschinen und gelangt am Ende zur Realität – einem klar denkenden, transparenten Kopf. Das Künstlerkollektiv RE:SORB ist mehrfach preisgekrönt und ein Garant für qualitativ hochwertige Arbeiten. In ihrem Mapping Transformation geht es in Zeiten von Transformation und Digitalisierung darum, einen Weg für ein neues Morgen zu gestalten. Dabei sollte man neben all der Technik und den alternativen Möglichkeiten die Natur nicht aus den Augen verlieren. Im Videomapping des polnischen Kreativteams Clockwork wird das barocke Schloss Charlottenburg zunächst von Diskokugeln erleuchtet, Skulpturen tanzen im Takt. Dann transformiert die Fassade in eine Glasstruktur, Wale schwimmen in einer kosmischen Umgebung, Luftblasen verwandeln sich in Kugeln mit Kindern …. eine mystische Szenerie.

Berliner Fernsehturm

Für die Inszenierung con:trust setzen sich das Berliner Design-Team Studio Eigengrau und Soundselektor mit der Ambivalenz zwischen Mensch, Umwelt & Technik, sowie dem Gebrauch von fossilen und erneuerbaren Energien auseinander. Die technologischen Errungenschaften unserer Zivilisation stehen oft im Gegensatz zu den Erkenntnissen der Wissenschaft. con:trust zeigt, dass die Welt wie wir sie kennen nicht nur schwarz und weiß ist, sondern aus Facetten und Nuancen besteht. Der in Chicago ansässige US-Amerikaner George Berlin sagt über seine Inszenierung Evolve Love: „Es ist eine Geschichte über die Natur, die von der Technologie und dem modernen Leben überwältigt und fast absorbiert wird. Doch letztlich überwindet sie diese nicht nur, sie verschmilzt mit der Technologie, um die Zukunft auf neue Weise zu gestalten.“ Les Ateliers Nomand aus Rumänien hat die symbolhaften und in ihrer Schlichtheit außergewöhnlichen Meisterwerke des Bildhauers Constantin Brâncuși farbenfroh und lebendig neu interpretiert. Darunter bekannte Skulpturen wie „Vogel im Weltraum“, „Endlose Säule“ und „Tisch der Stille“. Die modernen Bestandteile betten sich harmonisch in Naturelemente ein, in Bewegung und Rhythmus. Sie lösen die Probleme von heute und morgen durch vereinfachte Algorithmen. Brâncuși in Space ist eine fantastische Reise durch ein Universum, das stark und gleichzeitig schutzbedürftig ist.

Hotel de Rome

Die Künstler hinter The Projection Studio aus England sind Ross Ashton und Karen Monid, im Festival vertreten mit dem Beitrag Psyche. Eigentliche Protagonisten sind blaue Schmetterlinge, die die einzelnen Szenen miteinander verbinden, Übergänge gestalten und so die Verbundenheit der Welt zum Ausdruck bringen. Diese einzelnen Szenen zeigen unterschiedlichste Bilder einer Welt, wie Menschen sie sich wünschen: Ein regenbogenfarbener Wasserfall im Wald, eine kleine Insel in einem sauberen Meer oder einen Sonnenaufgang in der Wüste.

X