presented by

Premium-Partner







Ministries & Institutions

A selection of photos and videos from recent years:

Federal Ministry of Finance

Creating Tomorrow – this year, the Federal Ministries, the Federal Press Office, the European House and the Federal Foreign Office followed the festival motto individually with their themes of the future: a video mapping by the Federal Foreign Office was directed against institutional violence and discrimination against Asian people. The Federal Ministry of Finance focused its motifs on a future-oriented budgetary and financial policy. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals were featured in a projection by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development. Freedom of the press was the focus of the Federal Press Office, and the historic facade of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure illuminated the paths we take in life. A strong, shared Europe is also part of our future.

For the 15th FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS, the Federal Ministry of Finance told the stories of its official building, which are closely linked to the history of the Berlin Wall. The events served as a reminder that freedom cannot be taken for granted and must be defended anew every day. With this special message, everyone could participate via social media within an interactive festival action of the ministry and tear down the wall powerfully once again.

Federal Foreign Office

“Faces of Europe” on the façade of the Federal Foreign Office. In 2020, an extraordinary journey took photo artist Carsten Sander through all EU member states on behalf of the German Foreign Office on the occasion of the EU Council Presidency. His mission: 1000 portrait photos of people from a wide variety of ethnic and social backgrounds. 1000 Faces of the European Union – an outstanding demonstration of European sensibilities and a work about peaceful coexistence, tolerance and shared values.

At the 15th Festival of Lights, the Foreign Office in Berlin once again told the story of liberation and redemption on its facade: “I have come to you to inform you that today your departure…”. The rest of then-Foreign Minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher’s speech went down in the fall of 1989 to frenetic cheers and shouts of “Freedom! Freedom!” shouts of the nearly 4,000 GDR citizens who had sought refuge in the building and garden of the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Prague.

Fotocredit: Frank Herrmann, Florian Ullbrich

X

presented by

Premium-Partner







Ministerien & Institutionen

Eine Auswahl an Fotos und Videos der letzten Jahre:

Bundesministerium der Finanzen (BMF)

Creating Tomorrow – dem Festivalmotto folgten die Bundesministerien, das Bundespresseamt, das Europäische Haus und das Auswärtige Amt in diesem Jahr ganz individuell mit ihren Themen der Zukunft: ein Videomapping des Auswärtigen Amtes richtete sich gegen institutionelle Gewalt und Diskriminierung von asiatischen Menschen. Das Bundesministerium der Finanzen setzte bei seinen Motiven auf eine zukunftsorientierte Haushalts- und Finanzpolitik. Die 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele waren bei einer Projektion des Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung zu sehen. Die Pressefreiheit stand ganz im Fokus des Bundespresseamtes und auf der historischen Fassade des Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur leuchteten die Wege, die wir im Leben gehen. Auch ein starkes, gemeinsames Europa gehört zu unserer Zukunft.

Das Bundesfinanzministerium erzählte zum 15. FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS die Geschichten seines Dienstgebäudes, die eng verbunden sind mit der Geschichte der Berliner Mauer. Die Ereignisse ließen daran erinnern, dass Freiheit nicht selbstverständlich ist und jeden Tag aufs Neue verteidigt werden muss. Mit dieser besonderen Botschaft konnten sich innerhalb einer interaktiven Festival-Aktion des Ministeriums alle über die sozialen Medien beteiligen und die Mauer noch einmal kraftvoll niederreißen.

Auswärtiges Amt

„Faces of Europe“ auf der Fassade des Auswärtigen Amts. Eine außergewöhnliche Reise führte Fotokünstler Carsten Sander 2020 im Auftrag des Auswärtigen Amts anlässlich der EU-Ratspräsidentschaft durch alle EU-Mitgliedsstaaten. Seine Mission: 1000 Portraitfotos von Menschen mit unterschiedlichsten ethnischen und sozialen Hintergründen. 1000 Gesichter der Europäischen Union – eine herausragende Demonstration europäischer Empfindungen und ein Werk über friedliche Koexistenz, Toleranz und gemeinsame Werte.

Beim 15. Lichterfest erzählte das Auswärtige Amt in Berlin auf seiner Fassade noch einmal die Geschichte von Befreiung und Erlösung: „Ich bin zu Ihnen gekommen, um Ihnen mitzuteilen, dass heute Ihre Ausreise…“. Der Rest der Rede des damaligen Außenministers Hans-Dietrich Genscher ging im Herbst 1989 im frenetischen Jubel und den „Freiheit! Freiheit!“-Rufen der fast 4.000 DDR-Bürgerinnen und Bürger unter, die in Gebäude und Garten der Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Prag Zuflucht gesucht hatten.

Fotocredit: Frank Herrmann, Florian Ullbrich

X