fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









– Federal ministries, the Federal Press Office and the European House are shining for freedom –

The Federal Government is present on multiple buildings with the heart motif of the campaign “30 Years of Peaceful Revolution and German Unity”. A total of 10 federal ministries and the Federal Press Office will be participating in the Festival of Lights. The Federal Foreign Office, for example, will be showing video scenes of Hans-Dietrich Genscher’s legendary words from 1989 on the balcony of the Prague Embassy. On the facade of the Federal Ministry of Finance, a digital wall, designed by the wall artist Thierry Noir, is gradually torn down with an interactive action.

The European Commission and the European Parliament are illuminating their productions in the European House on Brandenburger Platz.

A free bus tour connects the various locations.

Every evening free bus tour

During the festival, a free bus tour connects the various locations of the participating federal ministries, the BPA and the European House in Berlin-Mitte. There will be two buses every evening.

Starting time:

  1. Bus – 7 p.m.
  2. Bus – 8 p.m.

Departure point: Alexanderstraße 1, opposite Park Inn Hotel

There, where the Flix buses also depart, you will find a white double-decker bus from BEX-Sightseeing with the branding “Free Festival Bus Tour”.

Tour duration: approx. 3 hours – incl. 2 tour stops (1x at the Brandenburg Gate and 1x at the Invalidenplatz)

Endpoint: Tränenpalast / Foundation House of History, Reichstagsufer 17, 10117 Berlin

In the Tränenpalast, a special video created for the Festival of Lights awaits the guests as well as the current exhibition.
The video show starts every 15 minutes. The Tränenpalast is opened until midnight during the festival period.

Download the flyer

Federal Ministry of the Interior (BMI)

The Federal Government intends to use the 30th anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution and German Unity to promote a deeper understanding of the achievements of citizens in the GDR, which made the fall of the Berlin Wall and unity possible. But also the transformation processes of the following 30 years will be honored, and debated honestly and critically. During the Festival of Lights, a black, red and gold heart will be on display at many of the buildings. The logo of the anniversary year symbolizes the joy of this unique fortune in German history and invites us to engage in dialogue.

To the Website

The Press and Information Department of the Federal Government (BPA)

Two of the light projections used to illuminate the Federal Press Office are about freedom of the press – directly on the River Spree, at Friedrichstrasse station. Freedom of the press, threatened in many places worldwide, is a cornerstone of democracy and protected in Germany by Article 5 of the Basic Law and Article 11 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF)

With its contribution to the festival, the Federal Ministry of Finance tells the stories of its office building, which are closely linked to the history of the Berlin Wall: on 7 October 1949, the GDR was founded in the large hall of the building and the “House of Ministries”, a center of the GDR government, moved in. Only three and a half years later, on 17 June 1953, a popular uprising took place in front of the building, which was bloodily suppressed. Today, the square on Leipziger Strasse commemorates the victims. On June 15, 1961, one of the best-known lies in history occurred at the site where the GDR was founded: “Nobody intends to erect a wall,” said Walter Ulbricht, Chairman of the GDR State Council, at a press conference. Only a few months later, East Berlin construction workers begin to erect the Berlin Wall, which runs right past today’s “Detlev-Rohwedder-Haus” and can still be seen there in parts as a memorial. On the night of July 28, 1965, a spectacular escape from East to West takes place from the roof of the building: The Holzapfel family flees the East German regime with a wire rope over the Berlin Wall to freedom. All these events remind us that freedom cannot be taken for granted and that we have to defend it every day. This is the message of a spectacular interactive festival action by the ministry, in which you can participate via social media: Let us tear down the Berlin Wall together once more!

To the Website

Federal Foreign Office

“I’ve come to inform you that today your departure…” The rest of the speech of the then Foreign Minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher was delivered in autumn 1989 in frenetic jubilation and the “Freedom! Freedom” cries of the nearly 4,000 GDR citizens who had sought refuge in the building and garden of the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Prague.

When these women, men, and children began their journey by train from Prague to a new life in the West, this was a milestone on the road to the fall of the Wall – and a milestone for the diplomacy of our country. With moving images, the light installation on the façade of the Federal Foreign Office recalls the exciting days of 1989, the end of German division and the power of freedom.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

It’s the biggest Arctic expedition ever: The German research icebreaker Polarstern is currently drifting frozen through the Arctic Ocean. Scientists are exploring the Arctic to better understand the Arctic’s influence on the global climate. The MOSAiC expedition thus can be seen as a milestone for climate research. The data will be of great value for generations to come. Hence our motto: “Let’s go to the Arctic – Stop Climate Change”.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL)

The Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture is staging the historic facade of the house in Wilhelmstraße in its contribution to the festival. The artistic projection motifs illuminate important themes of the Ministry of Life and bring the forest into the city.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Health (BMG)

Patient safety, healthcare professions and 30 years of German unity – These are the topics of the projections on the building of the Federal Ministry of Health.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection (BMJV)

A projection motif will deal with the BMJV’s current campaign on the rule of law. The campaign aims to raise public awareness of the importance of the rule of law and to highlight the advantages it offers for each individual and society as a whole. The abstract concept of the rule of law is to be experienced and grasped at the same time, also by explaining the functioning of the democratic rule of law and subsequently conveying an understanding of the complexity of the legal system.

Other motifs on the facade of the BMJV during the festival deal with the 70th anniversary of the Basic Law and the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI)

Roads connect people. Roads overcome borders. Roads bring freedom. The 17 transport projects German Unity on Rail, Road, and Water are new paths through a united Germany. At the Festival of Lights, the Federal Ministry of Transport portrays the luminous paths of unity on its historic facade.

To the Website

Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi)

The current headquarters of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) is located on historically significant ground: Directly at the former Invalidenstrasse border crossing. This is reason enough to dedicate oneself to the historical events surrounding the Peaceful Revolution 30 years ago and to participate in the FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS 2019 under the motto “Lights of Freedom”.

To the Website

Experience Europe

In the immediate vicinity of the Brandenburg Gate is the European House with its permanent multimedia exhibition Experience Europe. It is also the home of the European Parliament Liaison Office and the Representation of the European Commission. Both institutions would like to draw attention to the importance of Europe with common projection motifs. In the free permanent multimedia exhibition Experience Europe, festival visitors can visit the 360° cinema every evening and take a journey through history, politics, and life in the European Union.

To the Website

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

The BMZ is concerned with subjects that are important for the future of humanity. The BMZ works, for example, for the cessation of hunger in the world, for education and health, for peace and freedom, for the preservation of our environment and for human rights.

We change fashion! Three-quarters of consumers believe that sustainable fashion is important. They do not want to wear T-shirts sewn by children or dyed with toxic chemicals. The Green Button creates clarity and trust here. From now on, the “Green Button” will make socially and ecologically produced clothing visible as a state seal.

To the Website

X

fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Bundesministerien, Bundespresseamt und Europäisches Haus leuchten für die Freiheit –

Die Bundesregierung war auf vielen Gebäuden mit dem Herzmotiv zu der Kampagne „30 Jahre Friedliche Revolution und Deutsche Einheit“ vertreten. Insgesamt waren 10 Bundesministerien und das Bundespresseamt beim Festival of Lights dabei: So zeigte z.B. das Auswärtige Amt Videoszenen von Hans-Dietrich Genschers legendären Worten von 1989 auf dem Balkon der Prager Botschaft. Auf der Fassade des Bundesfinanzministeriums wurde eine digitale Mauer, gestaltet vom Mauerkünstler Thierry Noir, mit einer interaktiven Aktion nach und nach zum Einsturz gebracht.

Die Europäische Kommission und das Europäische Parlament bespielten das Europäische Haus am Brandenburger Platz mit ihren Inszenierungen.

Eine kostenlose Bustour verband die verschiedenen Standorte.

Bundesministerium des Inneren (BMI)

Das Jubiläum 30 Jahre Friedliche Revolution und Deutsche Einheit möchte die Bundesregierung nutzen, um ein vertieftes Verständnis für die Leistungen der Bürgerinnen und Bürger in der DDR zu fördern, die Mauerfall und Einheit möglich machten. Aber auch die Transformationsprozesse der folgenden 30 Jahre sollen gewürdigt, ehrlich und kritisch diskutiert werden. Während des Festival of Lights war an vielen Gebäuden ein schwarz-rot-goldenes Herz zu sehen. Das Logo des Jubiläumsjahres symbolisierte die Freude über diesen einzigartigen Glücksfall der deutschen Geschichte und lud dazu ein, in den Dialog zu treten.

Zur Website

Das Presse- und Informationsamt der Bundesregierung (BPA)

Um Pressefreiheit ging es bei zwei der Lichtprojektionen, mit denen das Bundespresseamt angestrahlt werden – direkt an der Spree, beim Bahnhof Friedrichstraße. Die Pressefreiheit, weltweit vielerorts bedroht, ist ein Grundpfeiler der Demokratie und in Deutschland geschützt in Artikel 5 des Grundgesetzes und in Artikel 11 der Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union.

Zur Website

Bundesministerium der Finanzen (BMF)

Der Festival-Beitrag des Bundesfinanzministeriums erzählte die Geschichten seines Dienstgebäudes, die eng verbunden sind mit der Geschichte der Berliner Mauer: Am 7. Oktober 1949 wurde im großen Saal des Gebäudes die DDR gegründet und es zog das „Haus der Ministerien“ ein, ein Zentrum der DDR-Regierung. Gegen diese erhob sich nur dreieinhalb Jahre später – am historischen 17. Juni 1953 – ein Volksaufstand vor dem Gebäude, der blutig niedergeschlagen wurde. An die Opfer wird heute mit dem Platz an der Leipziger Straße erinnert. Am Ort der DDR-Gründung kommt es am 15. Juni 1961 zu einer der bekanntesten Lügen der Geschichte: „Niemand hat die Absicht, eine Mauer zu errichten“, sagt der DDR-Staatsratsvorsitzende Walter Ulbricht bei einer Pressekonferenz. Nur einige Monate später beginnen Ost-Berliner Bauarbeiter mit der Errichtung der Berliner Mauer, die direkt am heutigen Detlev-Rohwedder-Haus vorbeiläuft und als Mahnmal in Teilen dort heute noch zu sehen ist. Vom Dach des Gebäudes kommt es in der Nacht zum 28. Juli 1965 zu einer spektakulären Flucht von Ost nach West: Mit einem Drahtseil flüchtet die Familie Holzapfel über die Berliner Mauer vor dem ostdeutschen Regime in die Freiheit. All diese Ereignisse erinnern uns daran, dass Freiheit nicht selbstverständlich ist und wir sie jeden Tag aufs Neue verteidigen müssen. Das war die Botschaft einer spektakulären interaktiven Festival-Aktion des Ministeriums, an der sich alle über die sozialen Medien beteiligen und die Mauer noch einmal einreißen konnten.

Zur Website

Auswärtiges Amt

„Ich bin zu Ihnen gekommen, um Ihnen mitzuteilen, dass heute Ihre Ausreise…“ Der Rest der Rede des damaligen Außenministers Hans-Dietrich Genscher ging im Herbst 1989 im frenetischen Jubel und den „Freiheit! Freiheit!“-Rufen der fast 4000 DDR-Bürgerinnen und Bürger unter, die in Gebäude und Garten der Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Prag Zuflucht gesucht hatten.

Als diese Frauen, Männer und Kinder mit dem Zug ihre Reise aus Prag in ein neues Leben im Westen antraten, war dies ein Meilenstein auf dem Weg zum Fall der Mauer – und ein Meilenstein für die Diplomatie unseres Landes. Mit bewegenden Bildern erinnerte die Lichtinstallation auf der Fassade des Auswärtigen Amts an die spannungsreichen Tage 1989, das Ende der deutschen Teilung und die Kraft der Freiheit.

Zur Website

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Es ist die größte Arktisexpedition aller Zeiten: Derzeit driftet der deutsche Forschungseisbrecher Polarstern eingefroren durch das Nordpolarmeer. Wissenschaftler erforschen die Arktis, um den Einfluss der Arktis auf das globale Klima besser zu verstehen. Die MOSAiC-Expedition wird damit ein Meilenstein für die Klimaforschung. Die Daten werden für Generationen von großem Wert sein. Daher auch unser Motto: „Auf in die Arktis – Klimawandel stoppen!“

Zur Website

Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL)

Das Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft setzte in seinem Festivalbeitrag die historische Hausfassade in der Wilhelmstraße in Szene. Die künstlerischen Projektionsmotive beleuchteten wichtige Themen des Lebensministeriums und holten den Wald in die Stadt.

Zur Website

Bundesministerium für Gesundheit (BMG)

Patientensicherheit, Gesundheitsberufe und 30 Jahre Deutsche Einheit – dies waren die Themen der Projektionen auf dem Gebäude des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit.

Zur Website

Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz (BMJV)

Ein Projektionsmotiv beschäftigte sich mit der aktuellen Rechtsstaatskampagne des BMJV. Ziel der Kampagne ist es, die Bedeutung des Rechtsstaats stärker ins Bewusstsein der Bevölkerung zu rücken und herauszustellen, welche Vorteile er für jeden Einzelnen und die Gesellschaft insgesamt bietet. Der abstrakte Begriff des Rechtsstaats soll zugleich erfahrbar und erfassbar werden, auch indem die Funktionsweise des demokratischen Rechtsstaats erklärt und in der Folge Verständnis für die Komplexität des Rechtssystems vermittelt wird.

Weitere Motive auf der Fassade des BMJV während des Festivals befassten sich mit dem Jubiläum 70 Jahre Grundgesetz und dem Jubiläum 30 Jahre Mauerfall.

Zur Website

Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI)

Wege verbinden Menschen. Wege überwinden Grenzen. Wege bringen Freiheit. Die 17 Verkehrsprojekte Deutsche Einheit auf Schiene, Straße und Wasser sind neue Wege durch ein vereintes Deutschland. Beim Festival of Lights zeigte das Bundesverkehrsministerium auf seiner historischen Fassade die leuchtenden Wege der Einheit.

Zur Website

Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)

Direkt am ehemaligen Grenzübergang Invalidenstraße auf historisch bedeutendem Boden ist der heutige Sitz des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi). Anlass genug, sich den historischen Ereignissen um die Friedliche Revolution vor 30 Jahren zu widmen und am FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS 2019 unter dem Motto „Lights of Freedom“ teilzunehmen.

Zur Website

Erlebnis Europa

In unmittelbarer Nähe des Brandenburger Tors liegt das Europäische Haus mit ihrer Multimedia Dauerausstellung Erlebnis Europa. Dort befinden sich auch das Verbindungsbüro des Europäischen Parlament und die Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission. Beide Institutionen wollten mit gemeinsamen Projektionsmotiven auf die Bedeutung Europas aufmerksam machen. In der kostenlosen Multimedia Dauerausstellung Erlebnis Europa können Festivalbesucher jeden Abend das 360° Kino besuchen und eine Reise durch die Geschichte, die Politik und das Leben in der Europäischen Union machen.

Zur Website

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Im BMZ geht es um die Themen, die für die Zukunft der Menschheit wichtig sind. Das BMZ setzt sich zum Beispiel für die Beseitigung des Hungers in der Welt, für Bildung und Gesundheit, Frieden und Freiheit, die Bewahrung unserer Umwelt und für die Menschenrechte ein.

We change fashion! Drei Viertel der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher ist nachhaltige Mode wichtig. Sie wollen kein T-Shirt tragen, das von Kindern genäht oder mit giftigen Chemikalien gefärbt wurde. Der Grüne Knopf schafft hier Klarheit und Vertrauen. Ab sofort macht der „Grüne Knopf“ als staatliches Siegel sozial und ökologisch produzierte Kleidung sichtbar.

Zur Website

X