presented by

The Climate Pledge

Premium-Partner











Program 2021

Program points

All illuminations at the approximately 70 locations lit up between 20:21 and 24:00 every day from September 03-12, 2021, unless otherwise specified in the program. Below you can see the currently known festival locations that were illuminated.

 

Bode-Museum

Marienkirche

Nikolaiviertel - By the walnut tree

Nikolaiviertel - Propststraße

Foreign Office

More

Train Station Hackescher Markt

Berlin TV Tower

More

Nikolaiviertel - Tree of Lights

New Marstall

More

Humboldt Forum

More

Illuseum Berlin

Location of former department store Israel

Location of former department store Israel

With a still projection, the striking corner building on Rathausstraße, once the Israel department store, was staged with the Nikolaiviertel lettering as the “Gateway to the Nikolaiviertel”. The projection featured the most famous buildings of the quarter such as the Ephraim-Palais, the Knoblauchhaus or the Nikolaikirche. The Berlin Bear has climbed to the top and invited the visitors.

 

 

 

Nikolaiviertel - Court arbor

Nikolaiviertel - Court arbor

In Poststraße, the historically recreated courthouse arbor was staged for the first time with an artistic still projection. The collage motif showed well-known historical personalities from the Nikolai Quarter who are closely linked to Poststraße. The courtyard entrance next to the courthouse arbor was brightly staged in corresponding colors.

 

 

 

Nikolaiviertel - Dove portal

Nikolaiviertel - Court arbor

The dove of peace on the facade relief, based on a design by Pablo Picasso, was brought to life this year by means of video projection. Behind a blue sky with clouds and a television tower, the title “City of Peace” was emphasized, which was awarded to the then East Berlin by the Chairman of the World Peace Council Romesh Chandra in 1979.

 

 

 

 

 

Berlin Cathedral

More

Humboldt University

More

State Opera

State Opera

The Bebelplatz was shining in a 180-degree staging on the theme of “Creating Tomorrow”. The State Opera was embedded in this ensemble.

 

 

 

St. Hedwig Cathedral

St. Hedwig Cathedral

Bebelplatz shined in a 180-degree staging on the theme of “Creating Tomorrow”. St. Hedwig’s Cathedral was embedded in this ensemble.

 

 

 

Hotel de Rome

More

Faculty of Law of Humboldt University

Faculty of Law of Humboldt University

The illuminated facade of the Faculty of Law was part of the 360° staging of Bebelplatz. On display was a colorful illustration of plants and animals such as ladybugs from the workshop of Daniel Markgraf.

 

 

 

Embassy of the kingdom of Belgium

Concert hall

More

Microsoft

More

Federal Press Office

More

European House

European House

The European House presented a projection of the EU flag with its golden stars in a special form, expressing the sense of cohesion and the strengths of the EU.

 

 

 

 

Embassy of the U.S.

More

Ritz-Carlton

More

Potsdamer Platz - Earth

More

Entrance Potsdamer Platz Arcades

Entrance Potsdamer Platz Arcades

Sokar Uno is a German artist who lives in Berlin and realizes his projects on a national and international level. His artistic career began in 1999 with the classic graffiti, which, however, over the years of development and the study of figurative representation changed into a painterly direction. His skill is based solely on a self-taught approach. The creation for the festival was a commissioned work, fitting of course to the thematic framework.

 

 

 

Piano-Lake

Piano-Lake

On Piano Lake, the magical fairy tale “The Wild Swans” by Hans Christian Andersen finally came to life, electronic swans began to dance and shine brightly on the water of the night. The royal animals glided across the lake and stage a breathtaking water ballet. This light artwork was created and produced by Denis Bivour & Florian Giefer (Loomaland.com).

 

 

 

Ewerk

Berlin Central Station

Berlin Central Station

Europe’s largest crossing station displaysed colorful stills on the theme of the “Year of Rail” in Europe, brought to life with augmented reality. Under the brand “Mein_EinkaufsBahnhof” (My_ShoppingStation), the station invites visitors to stroll, feast and store 365 days a year. It is not only a travel center, but also an attractive all-around provider for Berliners and travelers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Memorial Church

rbb

rbb Television Center

This year’s motif came from PFA Studios and formed an aesthetic symbiosis between analog broadcasting technologies (test pattern) and contemporary digital media. Thus, Rundfunk-Berlin Brandenburg showed itself in the field of tension of the digital transformation and gave an artistic insight into the creation of its digital future, according to the current motto of the FOL “Creating tomorrow”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Train Station Frohnau & Casino Tower

Tchoban Foundation

More

Train Station Lichtenberg

Oberbaum Bridge

Anhalter Bahnhof

Train Station Sonnenallee

Train Station Lichterfelde Ost

Brandenburg Gate

More

Embassy of Canada

More

Kollhoff Tower

More

Alte Potsdamer Straße

Alte Potsdamer Straße

The installation “Chrominerals” in the tops of the trees made the beautiful avenue shine…. The light spectrum of the crystals suspended in the treetops created a wealth of colors. This dazzling work of art by the French artist studio Pitaya completed the composition of past, present and future at Potsdamer Platz.

 

 

 

Marlene-Dietrich-Platz

Marlene-Dietrich-Platz

The exploration of the “Red Planet” Mars provides answered to questions that have not yet been answered, e.g. the origin of life. In the current “Year of Science”, the expeditions to the “Red Planet” were a visible sign of people’s intensive preoccupation with their own future and that of future generations.

 

 

 

Pfizer Building

More

Embassy of Italy

More

Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure

More

DRV Bund Building

More

Spandau Arcades

Pankow Town Hall

Old Town Hall Marzahn

Lichtenberg Town Hall Square

InterCity Hotel Ostbahnhof

More

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

More

Sony Music

More

LIO Lichterfelde

Brandenburg Gate

More

P5

Forum Tower

More

Varian-Fry-Straße

More

Stage Theater

More

Federal Ministry of Finance

More

Victory Column

More

Charlottenburg Palace

More

Radiotower

Waterkant

Train Station Pankow

Apartment block DHH

Apartment block DHH

On the high-rise residential building at Helene-Weigel-Platz, visitors experienced a picture story about the emergence and urban development of the square over the last 35 years, in keeping with the collage on Marzahn-Hellersdorf City Hall.

 

 

 

 

 

Train Station Warschauer Straße

Emmaus Church

Emmaus Church

On the way through Kreuzberg, the Emmaus Church awaited all lighting enthusiasts in a special dress in the middle of Lausitzer Platz. In the trendy neighborhood with restaurants and parks, not far from Görlitzer Park, the futuristic mapping by the artist collective RE:SORB created a special atmosphere.

 

 

 

 

 

Town Hall Koepenick

Town Hall Koepenick

Berlin’s largest, greenest and most water-rich district played with the themes of water and sport in its illumination, in keeping with its location. This was made possible by the Köpenick Cultural Office and 6 Köpenick housing cooperatives. The projection could be brought to life with augmented reality.

 

 

 

 

Tempelhof Port

Wolkenhain

X

presented by

The Climate Pledge

Premium-Partner











Programm 2021

Programmpunkte 2021

Alle Illuminationen an den rund 70 Standorten leuchteten in der Zeit vom 03.-12. September 2021 täglich zwischen 20:21 und 24.00 Uhr, wenn nicht anders im Programm angegeben war. Nachfolgend sind die aktuell bekannten Festivalorte ersichtlich, die illuminiert wurden.

 

Bode-Museum

Marienkirche

Nikolaiviertel - Am Nußbaum

Nikolaiviertel - Propststraße

Nikolaiviertel - Propststraße

In Richtung Spreeufer begeisterte die Propststraße mit leuchtenden roten Mohnblumen in den Bäumen. Sie schwebten leicht und frei im Himmel und verwandelten die Straße bei jedem Windhauch in ein tanzendes Blumenmeer und animierten zu einem Spaziergang.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Auswärtiges Amt

Mehr erfahren

Humboldt Universität

Mehr erfahren

Hotel de Rome

Mehr erfahren

Bahnhof Hackescher Markt

Berliner Fernsehturm

Mehr erfahren

Nikolaiviertel - Tree of Lights

Neuer Marstall

Mehr erfahren

Humboldt Forum

Mehr erfahren

Staatsoper

Staatsoper

Der Bebelplatz erstrahlte in einer 180 Grad Inszenierung zum Thema “Creating Tomorrow”. Die Staatsoper war in dieses Ensemble eingebettet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Juristische Fakultät der Humboldt Universität

Juristische Fakultät der Humboldt Universität

Der Bebelplatz erstrahlte in einer 180 Grad Inszenierung zum Thema “Creating Tomorrow”. Die Juristische Fakultät war in dieses Ensemble eingebettet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Illuseum Berlin

Standort ehem. Kaufhaus Israel

Standort ehem. Kaufhaus Israel

In der Rathausstraße/ Ecke Spandauer Straße ist es das ehemalige Kaufhaus Nathan Israel – einst das älteste und größte Kaufhaus Berlins – das an dieser Stelle von 1834 bis 1934 stand. Mittels künstlerischer Standbildprojektion bot es einen weithin sichtbaren Blick in das Nikolaiviertel. Zu sehen waren dessen bekanntesten Gebäude sowie die Nikolaikirche.

 

 

 

 

 

Nikolaiviertel - Gerichtslaube

Nikolaiviertel - Gerichtslaube

In der Poststraße wurde erstmalig die historisch nachempfundene Gerichtslaube mit einer kunstvollen Standbildprojektion inszeniert. Das Collagenmotiv zeigte bekannte historische Persönlichkeiten aus dem Nikolaiviertel, die eng mit der Poststraße verknüpft sind. Der Hofeingang neben der Gerichtslaube wurde in korrespondierenden Farben leuchtend inszeniert.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nikolaiviertel - Taubenportal

Nikolaiviertel - Taubenportal

Die einem Entwurf von Pablo Picasso nachempfundene Friedenstaube auf dem Fassadenrelief wurde dieses Jahr mittels Videoprojektion zum Leben erweckt. Hinter blauen Himmel mit Wolken und Fernsehturm wurde der Titel „Stadt des Friedens“ betont, welcher dem damaligen Ostberlin vom Vorsitzenden des Weltfriedensrates Romesh Chandra, im Jahr 1979 verliehen wurde.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Berliner Dom

Mehr erfahren

St. Hedwig-Kathedrale

St. Hedwig-Kathedrale

Der Bebelplatz erstrahlte in einer 180 Grad Inszenierung zum Thema “Creating Tomorrow”. Die St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale war in dieses Ensemble eingebettet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Botschaft des Königreichs Belgien

Konzerthaus

Mehr erfahren

Europäisches Haus

Europäisches Haus

Das Europäische Haus präsentierte eine Projektion der EU-Flagge mit ihren goldenen Sternen in besonderer Form und brachte dabei das Zusammenhaltsgefühl und die Stärken der EU zum Ausdruck.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Microsoft

Mehr erfahren

Brandenburger Tor

Mehr erfahren

Brandenburger Tor

Mehr erfahren

Botschaft USA

Mehr erfahren

Ritz-Carlton

Mehr erfahren

Potsdamer Platz - Erde

Mehr erfahren

Eingang Potsdamer Platz Arkaden

Eingang Potsdamer Platz Arkaden

Sokar Uno ist ein deutscher Künstler, der in Berlin lebt und seine Projekte auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene realisiert. Sein künstlerischer Werdegang begann 1999 mit dem klassischen Graffiti, was sich aber über die Jahre der Entwicklung und der Auseinandersetzung mit der figürlichen Darstellung in eine malerische Richtung wandelte. Die Kreation für das Festival war eine Auftragsarbeit, passend natürlich zum thematischen Rahmen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Piano-See

Eingang Potsdamer Platz Arkaden

Auf dem Piano See wurde das magische Märchen „Die wilden Schwäne“ von Hans Christian Andersen endlich lebendig, elektronische Schwäne begonnen zu tanzen und leuchteten hell auf dem Wasser der Nacht. Die königlichen Tiere glitten über den See und inszenierten ein atemberaubendes Wasserballett. Dieses Lichtkunstwerk wurde von Denis Bivour & Florian Giefer (Loomaland.com) erstellt und produziert.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ewerk

Berliner Hauptbahnhof

Berliner Hauptbahnhof

Europas größter Kreuzungsbahnhof zeigte farbenprächtige Standbilder zum Thema „Jahr der Schiene“ in Europa, die mit Augmented Reality lebendig werden konnten. Der Bahnhof lädt unter der Marke „Mein_EinkaufsBahnhof“ an 365 Tagen im Jahr zum Flanieren, Schlemmen und Shoppen ein. Er ist damit nicht nur Reisezentrum, sondern auch ein attraktiver RundUmVersorger für Berliner*innen und Reisende.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gedächtniskirche

rbb

rbb Fernsehzentrum

Das Motiv kam von PFA Studios und bildete eine ästhetische Symbiose zwischen analoger Sendetechnologien (Testbild) mit den zeitgenössischen digitalen Medien. So zeigte sich der Rundfunk-Berlin Brandenburg im Spannungsfeld der digitalen Transformation und gab einen künstlerischen Einblick in die Entstehung seiner digitalen Zukunft, gemäß dem aktuellen Motto des FOL „Creating tomorrow“.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

S-Bahnhof Frohnau & Kasinoturm

Tchoban Foundation

Mehr erfahren

S-Bahnhof Lichtenberg

Oberbaumbrücke

Anhalter Bahnhof

S-Bahnhof Sonnenallee

Bahnhof Lichterfelde Ost

Botschaft von Kanada

Mehr erfahren

Kollhoff Tower

Mehr erfahren

Alte Potsdamer Straße

Alte Potsdamer Straße

Die Installation „Chrominerals“ in den Wipfeln der Bäume ließ die wunderschöne Allee erstrahlen. Durch das Lichtspektrum der in den Baumkronen aufgehängten Kristalle entstand eine Fülle an Farben. Mit diesem schillernden Kunstwerk vom französischen Künstlerstudio Pitaya vollendete sich die Komposition von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft am Potsdamer Platz.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marlene-Dietrich-Platz

Marlene-Dietrich-Platz

Die Erforschung des „Roten Planeten“ Mars ermöglicht Antworten auf noch ungeklärte Fragen, zB zum Ursprung des Lebens. Die Expeditionen zum „Roten Planeten“ sind im aktuellen „Jahr der Wissenschaft“ ein sichtbares Zeichen für die intensive Beschäftigung der Menschen mit der eigenen und der Zukunft künftiger Generationen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pfizer Gebäude

Mehr erfahren

Botschaft Italien

Mehr erfahren

DRV Bund

Mehr erfahren

Spandau Arcaden

Rathaus Pankow

Altes Rathaus Marzahn

Lichtenberg Rathausplatz

InterCity Hotel Ostbahnhof

Mehr erfahren

Sony Music

Mehr erfahren

LIO Lichterfelde

P5

Forum Tower

Mehr erfahren

Varian-Fry-Straße

Mehr erfahren

Stage Theater

Mehr erfahren

Siegessäule

Mehr erfahren

Schloss Charlottenburg

Mehr erfahren

Funkturm

Waterkant

Bahnhof Pankow

Wohnblock DHH

Wohnblock DHH

Auf dem Wohnhochhaus am Helene-Weigel-Platz erlebten die Besucher*innen passend zur Collage auf dem Rathaus Marzahn-Hellersdorf eine Bildergeschichte zur Entstehung und städtebaulichen Entwicklung des Platzes in den letzten 35 Jahren.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bahnhof Warschauer Straße

Emmauskirche

Emmauskirche

Auf dem Weg durch Kreuzberg erwartete alle Lichtenthusiasten die Emmauskirche in besonderem Kleid mitten auf dem Lausitzer Platz. Im Szene-Kiez mit Restaurants und Parks, unweit des Görlitzer Parks ließ das futuristische Mapping des Künstler-Kollektivs RE:SORB eine besondere Atmosphäre entstehen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rathaus Köpenick

Rathaus Köpenick

Der größte, grünste und wasserreichste Bezirk Berlins spielte in seiner Illumination passend zu seiner Lage mit den Themen Wasser und Sport, ermöglicht wurde das vom Kulturamt Köpenick und 6 Köpenicker Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften. Die Projektion ließ sich mit Augmented Reality zum Leben erwecken.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tempelhofer Hafen

Wolkenhain

X