fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Embassy of the Republic of Singapore

Cultural Diversity – Kaleidoscopic Art Motifs at the Singapore Embassy

For the third time, the Embassy of the Republic of Singapore called for an international competition. Kaleidoscope was this year’s motto. The kaleidoscope is an optical device with mirrors inside that produces beautiful images. But it is also a fitting metaphor for the cultural diversity of the two metropolises of Singapore and Berlin.

Ten finalists showed their ideas and their understanding of the power that results from the beauty and energy of cultural exchange on the modern facade of the embassy. They came from China, Singapore, Berlin, Pakistan, France, America and Mexico. Festival visitors chose their personal favorite among the luminous works of art online.

We’re happy to announce the winners from this year’s Online voting!

  1. Place: Noor Alvi (Pakistan)
  2. Place: Yocondo Ratio (Mexico)
  3. Place: Sarah Brophy (USA)

Kaleidoscope was more than just an award on the facade of the embassy. It was also a cultural program launched by the Republic of Singapore in Berlin in June. Both classical concerts and light music were presented in this cultural exchange. A street food market and other small and large highlights rounded off the programme.

1. Anius (Shanghai, China)

Singapur Anius 2019 FU

Phoenix & Dragon

Seeing cultural integration and Singapore, we are the first to think of Asian culture, the dragon is a very representative Asian culture, and our team is also from China. The theme of the kaleidoscope gave us the inspiration for fractal art. This is a mathematical art, we are all fascinated by it, just like a kaleidoscope with infinite changes and superpositions. In Asian culture, the dragon and the phoenix represent rebirth, just like the moment when the Berlin Wall was torn down, and it also represented all the good meanings.

2. Ernest Seah (Singapore)

Flowers of Friendship

Cornflower and Edelweiss, Fabulous And Fragrant Flowers of Germany in Vibrant Kaleidoscope of Colours Depicting Happiness and the Vibrancy of Life and Love. Brushstrokes in Ink creating the stainglass effect which signifies the beautiful and bright sunshine that shines upon the relationship between our two countries.

3. Lee Tatham (Berlin, Germany)

Peranakalaied

Taking a single motif and reflecting it back on itself to create a multitude of interesting forms reflective of patterns created by the Peranakan culture in Singapore and Southeast Asia.
Even with a rich history and culture behind us, those of us fortunate enough to travel and live amongst other cultures will often learn more about ourselves and our own culture when it is reflected back at us from many angles through the different experiences and people we meet.

4. Noor Alvi (Islamabad, Pakistan)

Singapur

Panorama

Indeed, the world looks even more beautiful in a “panoramic kaleidoscope”. The inspiration of this design is my love for natural beauty. The design was created using geometrical segments of the very same figure, and ended up becoming a vintage-styled kaleidoscopic design. It is mind-boggling to see how magical a single scene looks when presented in a kaleidoscope.

5. Typru (Paris, France)

I see the kaleidoscope as a mixture of patterns forming an imaginary, wonderful, surrealist world in which our eyes combine shapes and colors. Thereby, this large-scale immersive Kaleidoscope calls us to remember a combination of ecstasy and warm feelings from of a childish, almost psychedelic world.

6. Sarah Brophy (Boston, USA)

Kaleidoscopes were one of the first scientific tools in the 19th century to be available to the entire public, not just a group of elite academics. In 1819, a journalist for the Royal Institution’s Quarterly Journal of Science and the Arts wrote, “A universal mania for the instrument seized all classes… and every person not only felt, but expressed, that a new pleasure had been added to their existence.” My piece, Garden for Berlin, aims to renew this sentiment in a contemporary context, celebrating the way we are using art and technology to evoke wonder in people through this festival. Through two similar but nonidentical groves of strange flowers, Garden for Berlin explores the ways we find balance with ourselves and one another, even if the reflection is not perfect.

7. Sascha Günay (Munich, Germany)

Signals

The image is a processed still frame from an interactive animated projection work. The (animated) squares (=signals) show the process of movement and transaction between people in a simplified and abstract way.
Green and red color thereby stand for coming/going/in/out/connect/disconnect…

8. Soh Ee Shaun (Singapore)

The vibrant, energetic artwork depicts the interaction of many colourful shapes and forms, like a Kaleidoscope of different cultures blending into a rich and vivid landscape of ideas, music and art.

9. Thomas Schmidt (Berlin, Germany)

The kaleidoscope creates the reflection of a reflection, but each time the light passes the distance between the mirrors, time moves on, so we are able to see more than a single moment, having the pattern and its colours shift from one corner of the building to the other. This progression in time itself becomes the tapestry, covering the building. But it is impossible to know whether it is in the process of falling apart or getting assembled, as just like the shifting patterns, no information is given which state represents past and which the future and whether we progress or regress.

10. Yocondo Ratio (San Luis Potosí, Mexico)

Memory Freedom

This piece arises from a concern to lose the digital data and as in the attempt to recover them after a loss, we recover fragments that pretend to be the real image, based on small pieces of memories emerging in a spiral and giving a few clues.

X

fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Botschaft der Republik Singapur

Vielfalt der Kulturen – Kunstmotive zum Thema Kaleidoskop auf der Botschaft von Singapur

Zum dritten Mal ruft die Botschaft der Republik Singapur zum internationalen Wettbewerb auf. Kaleidoskop ist das diesjährige Motto. Das Kaleidoskop ist ein optisches Gerät mit Spiegeln im Inneren, das schöne Bilder erzeugt. Aber es ist auch die passende Metapher für die kulturelle Vielfalt der beiden Metropolen Singapur und Berlin.

Zehn Finalisten zeigen ihre Ideen und ihr Verständnis von der Kraft, die sich aus der Schönheit und der Energie eines Austauschs der Kulturen ergibt auf der modernen Fassade der Botschaft. Sie kommen aus China, Singapur, Berlin, Pakistan, Frankreich, Amerika und Mexiko. Die Festival-Besucher können unter den leuchtenden Kunstwerken ihren persönlichen Favoriten online bestimmen. Die Gewinner werden am letzten Tag des Festivals genannt.

Kaleidoskop ist mehr als ein Award auf der Fassade der Botschaft. Es ist ebenso ein Kulturprogramm, das die Republik Singapur in Berlin im Juni gestartet hat. Dargeboten werden in diesem kulturellen Austausch sowohl klassische Konzerte als auch Unterhaltungsmusik. Ein Streetfood-Markt und weitere kleine und große Highlights runden das Programm ab.

Please enter the security code:
security code
Security Code (lowercase letters):

Abschicken/Submit

1. Anius (Shanghai, China)

Singapur Anius 2019 FU

Phönix & Drache

Wenn wir die kulturelle Integration und Singapur sehen, sind wir die Ersten, die an die asiatische Kultur denken, der Drache ist eine sehr repräsentative asiatische Kultur, und unser Team kommt ebenfalls aus China. Das Thema des Kaleidoskops gab uns die Inspiration für die fraktale Kunst. Das ist eine mathematische Kunst, von der wir alle fasziniert sind, genau wie ein Kaleidoskop mit unendlichen Veränderungen und Überlagerungen. In der asiatischen Kultur repräsentieren der Drache und der Phönix die Wiedergeburt, genau wie der Moment des Mauerfalls, und er repräsentiert auch alle guten Bedeutungen.

2. Ernest Seah (Singapur)

Blumen der Freundschaft

Kornblume und Edelweiß, fabelhafte und duftende Blumen Deutschlands in einem lebendigen Kaleidoskop von Farben, die das Glück und die Lebendigkeit von Leben und Liebe darstellen. Pinselstriche in Tinte erzeugen den Effekt der Glasmalerei, der den schönen und hellen Sonnenschein symbolisiert, der auf die Beziehung zwischen unseren beiden Ländern scheint.

3. Lee Tatham (Berlin, Deutschland)

Peranakalaied

Aus einem einzigen Motiv wird eine Vielzahl interessanter Formen, die Muster der Peranakan-Kultur in Singapur und Südostasien widerspiegeln. Selbst wenn eine reiche Geschichte und Kultur hinter uns liegt, werden diejenigen von uns, die das Glück haben, zwischen anderen Kulturen zu reisen und zu leben, oft mehr über sich selbst und unsere eigene Kultur erfahren, wenn wir es aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln betrachten und durch   Erfahrungen und Menschen, denen wir begegnen, beeinflusst werden.

4. Noor Alvi (Islamabad, Pakistan)

Singapur Noor Alvi 2019 FU

Panorama

Tatsächlich sieht die Welt in einem „Panorama-Kaleidoskop“ noch schöner aus. Die Inspiration für dieses Design ist meine Liebe zu natürlicher Schönheit. Das Design wurde mit Hilfe von geometrischen Segmenten der gleichen Figur erstellt, und wurde so zu einem kaleidoskopischen Design im Vintage-Stil. Es ist umwerfend zu sehen, wie magisch eine einzelne Szene aussieht, wenn sie in einem Kaleidoskop präsentiert wird.

5. Typru (Paris, Frankreich)

Ich sehe das Kaleidoskop als eine Mischung von Mustern, die eine imaginäre, wunderbare, surrealistische Welt bilden, in der unsere Augen Formen und Farben kombinieren. Dabei ruft uns dieses großformatige, immersive Kaleidoskop auf, uns an eine Kombination aus Ekstase und warmen Gefühlen aus einer kindlichen, fast psychedelischen Welt zu erinnern.

6. Sarah Brophy (Boston, USA)

Garten für Berlin

Kaleidoskope waren eines der ersten wissenschaftlichen Werkzeuge im 19. Jahrhundert, das der gesamten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich war, nicht nur einer Gruppe von Elitewissenschaftlern. 1819 schrieb ein Journalist für das Quarterly Journal of Science and the Arts der Royal Institution: „Eine universelle Manie für das Instrument ergriff alle Klassen…. und jeder Mensch fühlte nicht nur, sondern drückte aus, dass ihrer Existenz ein neues Vergnügen hinzugefügt worden war“. Mein Stück, Garden for Berlin, zielt darauf ab, dieses Gefühl in einem zeitgenössischen Kontext zu erneuern und die Art und Weise zu feiern, wie wir Kunst und Technologie nutzen, um durch dieses Festival Wunder bei den Menschen hervorzurufen. Durch zwei ähnliche, aber nicht identische Haine mit seltsamen Blumen erkundet Garden for Berlin die Möglichkeiten, wie wir das Gleichgewicht zwischen uns und einander finden, auch wenn die Reflexion nicht perfekt ist.

7. Sascha Günay (München, Deutschland)

Signale

Das Motiv ist ein verarbeitetes Standbild aus einer interaktiven animierten Projektionsarbeit.
Die (animierten) Quadrate (=Signale) zeigen den Prozess der Bewegung und Transaktion zwischen Menschen in einer vereinfachten und abstrakten Weise.
Grüne und rote Farbe stehen dabei für Kommen/Gehen/Gehen/Ein/Ausgehen/Verbinden/Trennen…..

8. Soh Ee Shaun (Singapur)

Das lebendige, energetische Kunstwerk zeigt das Zusammenspiel vieler bunter Figuren und Formen, wie ein Kaleidoskop verschiedener Kulturen, das sich zu einer reichen und lebendigen Landschaft aus Ideen, Musik und Kunst vermischt.

9. Thomas Schmidt (Berlin, Deutschland)

Das Kaleidoskop erzeugt die Reflexion einer Reflexion, aber jedes Mal, wenn das Licht den Abstand zwischen den Spiegeln überschreitet, bewegt sich die Zeit weiter, so dass wir mehr als einen Moment sehen können, wobei sich das Muster und seine Farben von einer Ecke des Gebäudes zur anderen verschieben. Dieser Zeitablauf selbst wird zum Wandteppich, der das Gebäude bedeckt. Aber es ist unmöglich zu wissen, ob es sich um einen Zusammenbruch oder eine Versammlung handelt, denn genau wie die sich verändernden Muster wird keine Information darüber gegeben, welcher Zustand die Vergangenheit und welche die Zukunft repräsentiert und ob wir vorankommen oder zurückgehen.

10. Yocondo Ratio (San Luis Potosí, Mexiko)

Gedächtnisfreiheit

Dieses Stück entsteht aus der Sorge, die digitalen Daten zu verlieren, und wie bei dem Versuch, sie nach einem Verlust wiederherzustellen, stellen wir Fragmente wieder her, die vorgeben, das reale Bild zu sein, basierend auf kleinen Erinnerungsstücken, die in einer Spirale entstehen und ein paar Hinweise geben.

X