fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









The large-scale projections on the façade of the former Stasi headquarters documented a special history: of dictatorship, repression and surveillance. But also of departure, peaceful revolution and the opening of files. The Wall fell 30 years ago, and shortly afterwards civil rights activists secured the files of the Ministry for State Security (MfS) of the GDR in the Stasi headquarters. They ensured that the archive was accessible to all concerned. Millions of people have since had access to the files.

From the Ministry’s headquarters in Berlin-Lichtenberg, with around 50 buildings and thousands of offices, up to 7,000 full-time employees organized the surveillance and persecution of the GDR population for almost four decades. Today the central archive for Stasi documents is located here. The former seat of the ministry is now a place of remembrance of dictatorship and resistance – a place of learning for democracy.

The three exhibitions at the “Stasi-Zentrale. Campus for Democracy” were also open in the evening: On the work of the “State Security in the SED Dictatorship”, on the history of the “Revolution and the Fall of the Wall” and on the Stasi documents archive with an “Insight into Secrets”. In addition, there were special guided tours on all festival days, e.g. through the Stasi Museum, through the grounds and through “Insight into the Secret” with a view into the Stasi archive of documents.

X

fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Die großflächigen Projektionen auf der Fassade der früheren Stasi-Zentrale dokumentierten eine besondere Geschichte: Von Diktatur, Repression und Überwachung. Aber auch von Aufbruch, Friedlicher Revolution und Öffnung der Akten. Vor 30 Jahren fiel die Mauer, kurz danach sicherten Bürgerrechtlerinnen und Bürgerrechtler in der Stasi-Zentrale die Akten des Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit (MfS) der DDR. Sie sorgten dafür, dass das Archiv für alle Betroffenen zugänglich wurde. Millionenfach erhalten seitdem Menschen Einblick in die Akten.

Vom Hauptsitz des Ministeriums in Berlin-Lichtenberg mit 50 Gebäuden und tausenden Büros organisierten  7.000 hauptamtliche Mitarbeiter über vier Jahrzehnte die Überwachung und Verfolgung der DDR-Bevölkerung. Heute befindet sich hier das zentrale Archiv für Stasi-Unterlagen. Der ehemalige Sitz des Ministeriums ist jetzt ein Ort der Erinnerung an Diktatur und Widerstand – ein Lernort für Demokratie.

Zum Festival of Lights waren die drei Ausstellungen  in der „Stasi-Zentrale. Campus für Demokratie“ auch abends geöffnet: Zum Wirken der „Staatssicherheit in der SED-Diktatur“, zur Geschichte von „Revolution und Mauerfall“ und zum Stasi-Unterlagen-Archiv mit einem „Einblick ins Geheime“. Darüber hinaus gab es an allen Festivaltagen Sonderführungen, u.a. durch das Stasi-Museum, über das Gelände und durch „Einblick ins Geheime“ mit Blick ins Stasi-Unterlagen-Archiv.

X