fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









From 1961 until 1989, the Berlin Wall divided the city in two: into East Berlin and West Berlin. There were a few border points where people could cross from the one side to the other. The checkpoint at Friedrichstrasse station was in the heart of Berlin. Here, hundreds of travellers crossed the border each day by train or city rapid railway (S-Bahn). And it was here, in front of the small departures hall with its high windows and flat roof, that East Germans said goodbye to their relatives from the West. You went into the hall in order to re-enter West Berlin. It was the scene of many a painful farewell. Often people didn’t know if they would ever see each other again and tears flowed freely. It truly was the Tränenpalst (Palace of Tears).

Our exhibition “Site of German Division” at this historical site shows how the division of Germany and the construction of the Berlin Wall came about. It also explains how the customs and passport checkpoint functioned at the Tränenpalast and outlines the surveillance system in place at the Friedrichstrasse border crossing.

In the Tränenpalast itself, visitors can experience the checkpoint procedures and actually walk through the original passport control booth. The exhibition focusses on the personal stories of various individuals who lived through the ordeals of divided Germany. Contemporary witnesses describe in interviews how they escaped from Communist East Germany and how they kept in contact with their families on the other side by sending letters or parcels. They also narrate how they smuggled documents and secret photographs across the border or protested against the travel ban in Communist East Germany. On 9 November 1989, the Wall fell in Berlin. Why did it all happen so suddenly? What then happened to Communist East Germany? What were people’s experiences back then? Now, a full 25 years after German Reunification, you can find out all about such things – at the Tränenpalast.

During the 15th Festival of Lights there was a special video presentation on the topic “30 Years of the Fall of the Wall”, which could be watched free of charge in the exhibition.

X

fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Die Mauer teilt Berlin von 1961 bis 1989 in zwei Hälften, Ost und West. An wenigen Grenzübergängen können die Menschen vom einen in den anderen Teil der Stadt gelangen. Der Grenzübergang Bahnhof Friedrichstraße liegt mitten in Berlin, hier passieren hunderte Reisende täglich die Grenze mit dem Zug oder der S-Bahn. Die Ostdeutschen verabschieden ihre Westverwandtschaft am Bahnhof vor der kleinen Ausreisehalle mit den großen Fenstern und dem Flachdach. Hier müssen sie durch, um wieder in den Westen zu kommen. Es sind schmerzliche Abschiede, denn man weiß nicht, wann man sich wiedersehen wird. Es fließen viele Tränen – am Tränenpalast.

Die Ausstellung „Ort der deutschen Teilung“ zeigt am historischen Ort, wie es zur Gründung der zwei deutschen Staaten und zum Bau der Berliner Mauer kommt, wie die Zoll- und Passkontrollen im Tränenpalast und die Überwachung am Grenzübergang Friedrichstraße funktionieren.

Im Tränenpalast können die Besucherinnen und Besucher den Ablauf der Grenzabfertigung nachvollziehen und durch eine Original-Passkontrollkabine gehen. Im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung stehen die persönlichen Geschichten der Menschen, die die deutsche Teilung am eigenen Leib erlebt haben. Zeitzeugen schildern in Interviews ihre Fluchten, und wie sie über Briefe und Pakete Kontakt zu ihren Familien im anderen Teil Deutschlands halten, wie sie Dokumente und geheime Fotografien über die Grenze schmuggeln oder gegen das Reiseverbot in der DDR protestieren. Am 9. November 1989 fällt die Mauer in Berlin. Wie konnte das so plötzlich passieren? Was geschieht nun mit der DDR, und wie erleben die Menschen diese Zeit? 30 Jahre nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung können Sie im Tränenpalast auf Spurensuche gehen.

Während des 15. Festival of Lights gab es eine besondere Videopräsentation passend zum Thema „30 Jahre Mauerfall“, die kostenlos in der Ausstellung angeschaut werden konnte.

X