fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Passers-by become art – interactive illusions on a facade

Chris Noelle and Gerrald van der Kolk of the Festival of Lights artists’ collective called their interactive installation on the shop windows of the Illmuseum “U Morph” – “You Transform”. The almost seven-meter-long installation allowed passers-by to merge with the projection. Using live tracking, their movements could be recorded in a predefined action area in front of the shop window and provided with spatial depth as a 3D figure.

As soon as a passer-by entered the marked action area in front of the window, he was recognized as a 3D object and integrated into the projection as an interactive 3D silhouette. This created the illusion that passers-by wanted to emerge directly from the two-dimensional projection. The impression was created as if the people were trapped in the projection and tried to escape. The projection itself consisted of changing patterns that are based on the experimental tradition of the Bauhaus and Constructivism.

The strollers in the Festival of Lights experienced an art performance in which they themselves played a role and became part of the action. Such an optical illusion, as was created on the window front of the museum, can otherwise only be experienced inside the building.

X

fbpx

presented by

Premium-Partner









Passanten werden Kunst – Interaktive Illusionen auf einer Fassade

„U Morph“ – „Du transformierst“ haben Chris Noelle und Gerrald van der Kolk vom Festival of Lights-Künstlerkollektiv ihre interaktive Installation auf den Schaufenstern des Illuseums genannt. Die fast sieben Meter lange Installation ließ vorbeigehende Passanten mit der Projektion regelrecht verschmelzen. Mittels Live-Tracking konnten ihre Bewegungen in einem vordefinierten Aktionsbereich vor dem Schaufenster aufgezeichnet und als 3D-Figur mit räumlicher Tiefe versehen werden.

Sobald ein Passant die markierte Aktionsfläche vor dem Fenster betrat, wurde er als 3D-Objekt erkannt und als interaktive 3D-Silhouette in die Projektion integriert. Dadurch wurde die Illusion kreiert, die Passanten würden direkt aus der zweidimensionalen Projektion heraustreten wollen. Es entstand der Eindruck als wären die Menschen in der Projektion gefangen und würden versuchen auszubrechen. Die Projektion selbst bestand aus wechselnden Mustern, die der experimentellen Tradition des Bauhauses und des Konstruktivismus angelehnt sind.

Die Flaneure im Festival of Lights erlebten eine Kunstperformance, in der sie selbst eine Rolle spielten und ein Teil der Aktion wurden. Eine solche Illusion oder optische Täuschung, wie sie auf der Fensterfront des Museums bestand, kann man sonst nur im Inneren des Gebäudes erleben.

X