13. Berlin Cathedral

Staging “Colours of Life” by various artists

The Berlin Cathedral is one of the biggest landmarks of our city and therefore is entitled to carry a special message during the festival: Diversity is inclusion. Experience the art created by artists with and without disabilities.

All artworks of the cathedral are characterized by strong individual artistic expression. The relief of the cathedral is an invitation and a challenge at the same time, which makes each work a skilful play of colors, shapes and dimensions.

Each work shown in the Lustgarten communicates with us as viewers in a particularly intense way.

In the first, it is about mythical creatures that take form of powerful soul guides and call us to trust in our intuition and in the divine guidance. In the other, we recognize a person in a wheelchair who has grown large, colorful wings that carry him towards an inclusive and colorful world of tomorrow.

All of the Cathedral’s light artwork pierces the veil of night without equal, illuminating the darkness.

 

The Berlin Cathedral in 3D and from a 360° perspective:

YouTube

Inclusive art and visibility

Three works at the Berlin Cathedral are mouth painted.

Three works at the Berlin Cathedral painted with the mouth.

For the first time, the FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS at the Berlin Cathedral is showing a mixture of 10 works. Three artists are wheelchair bound and cannot move their arms or legs. They draw their art by guiding the brush or pencil with their mouths.

The world we live in can be rough and full of obstacles in everyday life for people who don’t fit the norm.

One of the works is called: “Wings for Inclusion”. It shows a woman in a wheelchair who has grown large, colourful wings that carry her towards an inclusive and colourful world of tomorrow. Several ropes and hands reach down onto the stony world to pull the remaining people to the colourful globe that shines above her.

This special group of artists shows in a very direct way that art is able to overcome imaginary borders between different people. Their contributions encourage us as viewers to treat the differences of each individual with respect and appreciation. People with disabilities are part of our society, which we represent with great pride and joy in the group of festival artists. Visibility is a crucial building block for a more inclusive world.

1. MP-STUDIO | Bulgaria

A huge hot air balloon rises above the Berlin Cathedral. MP-STUDIO immerse the imposing building in a magical world of pink. Design: Nikol Shaldurova

Learn more

2. Gita Kurdpoor | Germany / Iran

NAKTAKS These 5 mythical creatures are powerful soul guides, and in their meaning should call us to trust more in our intuition and divine guidance. They unleash energies that help us overcome primal fears and sharpen our senses. They symbolize wisdom, awareness, emotions and attention. They pierce the veil of night and illuminate the darkness. They bring strength in troubled times, give the ability to see through connections. The NAKTAKS free us from emotional burdens on the way to inner peace.

Learn more

3. Otto Schade | Chile / Great Britain

The artwork of Otto Schade with his typical style elements shows that all colors of life are welcome. It is about love and acceptance in every sense.

Learn more

4. Ross Ashton | Great Britain

“Falling Leaves Flat” is the bright work of Ross Ashton and Abigail Holloway.

Learn more

5. Daniel Margraf | Germany

VIELFALT (English: diversity)

Diversity makes us think about the differences that make us whole as a collective. At first glance, the arrangement of elements seems random, yet upon closer reflection, a sense of unity emerges. This dynamic interplay invites the viewer to think about the connections we have despite our different shapes and sizes.

Learn more

6. MODULUX | Austria

What creative minds can conjure up by combining AI and their own creativity can be seen in the colorful patterns of the image “Colours of (artificial) Life”. The architectonic subtleties, on the contrary, were highlighted by hand. The Austrian team Modulux thus shows how we can use AI as a creative tool in the future without leaving our own style behind.

Learn more

7. Louisa Band | Germany

WINGS FOR INCLUSION is designed by mouth painter Louisa Band. It portrays a woman in a wheelchair who has grown large, colorful wings that carry her toward an inclusive and colorful world of tomorrow. Multiple ropes and hands reach down onto the stony world to carry the remaining people onto the colorful globe that shines above her.

Learn more

8. Lars Höllerer | Germany

The cheerful color motif FOR YOU. A FLOWER BOUQUET FULL OF FAITH-LOVE-HOPE by mouth painter Lars Höllerer.

Learn more

9. Thomas Kahlau | Germany

Thomas Kahlau’s work “Wild Poppies in the Mark Brandenburg” pays homage to the fields of his homeland.

Learn more

PLEASE NOTE

You are welcome to photograph this installation for personal use. However, we would like to inform you that commercial use of photos and videos of the installation without our permission is strictly prohibited. Thank you for your understanding.

13. Berliner Dom

Inszenierung „Colours of Life“ verschiedener Künstler*innen

Der Berliner Dom ist eines der größten Wahrzeichen unserer Stadt und genau er darf im Rahmen des Festivals eine besondere Botschaft tragen: Vielfalt ist Inklusion. Erleben Sie Kunst von Künstler*innen mit und ohne Behinderung.

Alle Kunstwerke des Doms sind geprägt von starkem individuellem künstlerischem Ausdruck. Das Relief des Doms ist Einladung und Herausforderung zugleich, welche jedes Werk zu einem gekonnten Spiel aus Farben, Formen und Dimensionen werden lassen.

Jedes Werk, das im Lustgarten gezeigt wird, kommuniziert in besonders intensiver Weise mit uns als Betrachter*innen.

An der einen Stelle geht es um Fabelwesen, die als machtvolle Seelenführer Gestalt annehmen und dazu aufrufen, auf unser Bauchgefühl und auf die göttliche Führung zu vertrauen. An anderer Stelle erkennen wir einen Menschen im Rollstuhl, dem große, bunte Flügel gewachsen sind, die ihn auf eine inklusive und bunte Welt von morgen tragen.

Alle Lichtkunstwerke des Doms durchdringen ohne Gleichen den Schleier der Nacht und erhellen das Dunkel.

 

Der Berliner Dom in 3D und 360° Perspektive: YouTube

Inklusionskunst und Sichtbarkeit

Drei der Werke am Berliner Dom mit dem Mund gemalt.

Zum ersten Mal zeigt das FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS am Berliner Dom eine Mischung aus 10 Werken. Drei der Künstler*innen sitzen im Rollstuhl und können weder Arme noch Beine bewegen. Sie zeichnen ihre Kunst, in dem sie den Pinsel oder Stift mit dem Mund führen.

Die Welt, in der wir leben, kann für Menschen, die nicht der Norm entsprechen, steinig und voller Hindernisse im Alltag sein.

Eines der Werke trägt den Titel: „Wings for Inclusion“. Es zeigt eine Frau im Rollstuhl, der große, bunte Flügel gewachsen sind, die sie auf eine inklusive und bunte Welt von morgen tragen. Mehrere Seile und Hände strecken sich auf die steinige Welt hinab, um die verbleibenden Menschen auf die bunte Weltkugel zu ziehen, die über ihr leuchtet.

Diese besondere Künstlergruppe zeigt in ganz unmittelbarer Weise, dass Kunst imaginäre Grenzen zwischen verschiedenen Menschen zu überwinden vermag. Ihre Beiträge regen uns als Betrachter*innen dazu an, der Verschiedenheit eines jeden Einzelnen mit Respekt und Wertschätzung zu begegnen. Menschen mit Behinderung sind ein Teil unserer Gesellschaft, den wir mit großem Stolz und Freude in der Gruppe der Festival Künstler*innen repräsentieren. Sichtbarkeit ist ein sehr wichtiger Baustein für eine inklusivere Welt.

1. MP-STUDIO | Bulgarien

Ein riesiger Heißluftballon erstreckt sich über den Berliner Dom. MP-STUDIO tauchen das imposante Gebäude in eine magische Welt in Pink. Design: Nikol Shaldurova

Mehr erfahren

2. Gita Kurdpoor | Deutschland / Iran

NAKTAKS. Diese 5 Fabelwesen sind machtvolle Seelenführer, und soll in ihrer Bedeutung dazu aufrufen, mehr auf das Bauchgefühl und die göttliche Führung zu vertrauen. Sie entfalten Energien, die uns helfen, Urängste zu überwinden und unsere Sinne zu schärfen. Sie versinnbildlichen Weisheit, Bewusstheit, Emotionen und Aufmerksamkeit. Sie durchdringen den Schleier der Nacht und erhellen das Dunkel. Sie bringen Kraft in unruhigen Zeiten, verleihen die Fähigkeit, Zusammenhänge zu durchblicken. Die NAKTAKS befreien uns von emotionalen Belastungen auf dem Weg zu innerem Frieden.

Mehr erfahren

3. Otto Schade | Chile / Großbritannien

Das Kunstwerk von Otto Schade mit seinen ihm typischen Stilelementen zeigt, dass alle Farben des Lebens willkommen sind. Es geht um Liebe und Akzeptanz in jeder Hinsicht.

Mehr erfahren

4. Ross Ashton | Großbritannien

„Falling Leaves Flat“ ist das knallige Werk von Ross Ashton und Abigail Holloway.

Mehr erfahren

5. Daniel Margraf | Deutschland

VIELFALT

Vielfalt läßt uns darüber nachdenken, dass es die Unterschiede sind, die uns als kollektives Ganzes ausmachen. Die Anordnung der Elemente scheint auf den ersten Blick willkürlich, doch bei näherer Betrachtung ergibt sich ein Gefühl der Einheitlichkeit. Dieses dynamische Zusammenspiel lädt den Betrachter ein, über die Verbindungen nachzudenken, die wir trotz unserer unterschiedlichen Formen und Größen haben.

Mehr erfahren

6. MODULUX | Österreich

Was kreative Köpfe durch die Kombination von KI und eigener Kreativität so zaubern können, ist in den farbenprächtigen Mustern des Bildes „Colours of (artificial) Life“ zu sehen. Die architektonischen Feinheiten wurden dagegen per Hand hervorgehoben. Das österreichische Team Modulux zeigt damit, wie wir KI in Zukunft als kreatives Tool nutzen können, ohne dabei den eigenen Stil hintenan zu stellen.

Mehr erfahren

7. Louisa Band | Deutschland

WINGS FOR INCLUSION ist gestaltet von der Mundmalerin Louisa Band. Es zeigt eine Frau im Rollstuhl, der große, bunte Flügel gewachsen sind, die sie auf eine inklusive und bunte Welt von morgen tragen. Mehrere Seile und Hände strecken sich auf die steinige Welt hinab, um die verbleibenden Menschen auf die bunte Weltkugel zu ziehen, die über ihr leuchtet.

Mehr erfahren

8. Lars Höllerer | Deutschland

Das fröhliche Farbmotiv FÜR DICH. EIN BLUMENSTRAUSS VOLL VON GLAUBE-LIEBE-HOFFNUNG von dem Mundmaler Lars Höllerer.

Mehr erfahren

9. Thomas Kahlau | Deutschland

Thomas Kahlau zeigt mit seinem Werk „Wilder Mohn in der Mark Brandenburg“ eine Hommage an die Felder seiner Heimat.

Mehr erfahren

BITTE BEACHTEN

Sie können diese Installation gerne für den persönlichen Gebrauch fotografieren. Wir möchten Sie jedoch darauf hinweisen, dass die kommerzielle Nutzung von Fotos und Filmen der Installation ohne unsere Genehmigung strengstens untersagt ist. Wir danken Ihnen.