presented by

The Climate Pledge


Festival of Lights Photo Contest 2021

Discover festival locations together. Take expressive photos. Win great prizes.

Time and time again, impressive festival pictures are included in the official photo book, an exclusive print on the front page of the festival newspaper or a wide-ranging presentation on the website or the social festival media. And of course, this year there is also an opportunity to actively participate as a photographer and send a personal message out into the world. The motifs for the public photo competition are, of course, the protagonists of the festival, i.e. the artfully illuminated buildings, squares and facades, light art and their magical messages. It does not matter which of the more than 75 festival locations is photographed. All photos sent to us by mail, to, by September 30, 2021, will be entered into the competition. A jury will select the most creative and beautiful motifs from all submissions. What is there to win?

1st place € 1,500
2nd place € 1,000
3rd place 500 €
4th – 15th place: a voucher worth 50 € each for a purchase in the FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS Online Shop


Excerpt from the conditions of participation:

  • Maximum 3 photos per participant, maximum file size for photos: 3 MB
  • Deadline by mail 30.09.2021
  • Granting of rights of use by the FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS
  • No photos that offend common decency or have advertising content
  • No frames, graphic elements or textsPictures in JPEG format with a size of 640×480 pixels up to a maximum of 1024×768 pixels.

The complete conditions of participation can be found in the FAQ’s.

Winners 2020

1. Place: Christian Kremer

2. Place: Corinna Tonn

3. Place: Minh Vo

Alwin Richter *

Fabian Pfitzinger *

Waldemar Pache *

Jan Ruhnke *

* Special Price

Winners 2019

1. Place: Waldemar Pache

2. Place: Antonio Jesús García Cruz

3. Place: Andreas Mnich-Rößger

Iris Schneider

Maximilian Kalkofen

Corinna Tonn

Christian Kremer

Conny Müller

Vincent Rubach

Martina Düvert

Winners 2018

1. Place: Maximilian Kalkofen

2. Place: Jessica Kriegbaum

3. Place: Torsten Thiele

Andreas Siebert

Marcus Klepper

Michael Kommrowski

Carsten Rathge

Dirk Jalas

Sabine Otten

Irina Ziedorn (sp)

Sabine Knorr

Olaf Neidhardt (sp)

Werner Krätzig (sp)

sp=special price

Winners 2017

1. Place: Stefan Lubs

2. Place: Torsten Thiele

3. Place: Matthias Wilhelm

Torsten Thiele

Martina Düvert

Stefanie Kunkel

Tom Gorski

Kimberly Gintar

Patrizia Selle

Niklas Böttcher

Matthias Wilhelm

Martina Düvert